Newsroom

Get to Know Your Physician: David Kuplic, MD

January 02, 2014

We caught up with OSI orthopedic surgeon David Kuplic for a quick Q & A.

Where is your hometown and how has that influenced you?

My hometown is Sheboygan Falls. Small town roots and small town values come with growing up there.

Tell us about your family.

I married my high school sweetheart. I think that this helped keep me grounded. My father was a physician (internal medicine) and I enjoyed following him around and how much people liked and respected him. My mother’s father and grandfather were also physicians (old-time general practitioners).

Where did you go to medical school?

I went to Brown University for undergraduate and Washington University in St. Louis for medical school and orthopedic residency.

Why did you choose your specialty?

Initially, I thought I wanted to be a pediatrician, but I fell in love with orthopedics. I discovered I liked surgery and being able to diagnose, treat, and follow people’s problems. It helped that most people got better and did well. I loved sports all of my life and treating people with sports injuries was interesting to me. I had great mentors in pediatrics, ortho, and total joints.

What do you enjoy most about your work?

I love doing surgery and especially when a patient tells me that I made a difference in their quality of life. I enjoy being part of a team.

If you weren’t a physician, what profession would you have chosen?

I was a math major in college and briefly entertained thoughts of being an actuary, but I always wanted to be a doctor.

What activities do you enjoy outside of work?

My two vices are golf and travel. Since the age of ten I have enjoyed golfing and find it relaxing just being on the course. I try to go on a golf trip each year with friends. I also enjoy traveling with my wife and we try to escape winter each year by heading somewhere warm.

Tell us about your favorite vacation.

My favorite trip was Iceland at the age of 40 with my wife, Trish. It is hard to beat the golfing and good company we had. When each of my kids turned 10, I took them on a trip (just the two of us) to a destination of their choice. These were great bonding experiences with my children.

Tell us something that most people don’t know about you.

Something most people don’t know about me is that I rowed crew in college. We won most of the major regattas in the country my senior year. I also enjoy reading books, especially non-fiction.

What health recommendations would you leave our readers?

I love Jim Valvano’s quote about life’s three things to do each day:

• Laugh

• Think–spend time in thought

• Have your emotions move you to tears